Rosenberg LibraryRoenberg Library
2310 Sealy Street, Galveston, TX 77550-2220
(409) 763-8854
fax (409) 763-0275
Galveston History Vignettes Mountain Speedway

Mountain Speedway at night

July 14, 1921 advertisement, Galveston Daily News

July 14, 1921 Galveston DailyNews ad
Roy Harm and daughter Alba Rose

Roy Harm with his daughter Alba Rose
standing before the Mountain Speedway, 1924.
Mountain Speedway

Above: an aerial view of the Mountain Speedway and the Buccaneer Hotel
(under construction), circa 1929.
Below: May 14, 1922 Galveston Daily News ad

May 14, 1922 Advertisement, Galveston Daily News
The Galveston and Texas History Center has been gifted prints from negatives made many years ago from a photograph album belonging to Roy Harm, operator of the iconic Galveston attraction the Mountain Speedway from 1925 to 1955.

The Ingersoll Amusement Company, which developed amusement parks around the nation, built the Mountain Speedway in 1921 at 2005 - 2011 22nd Street.

During the summer of its opening, Galveston Daily News ran advertisements for the new ride. July 14, 1921, the News advertised the roller coaster as “Deep Canyons of Real Joy.” An advertisement in the edition of August 22, 1921, mentioned that it offered “all the thrills of ice skating, skiing, or high diving.” The advertisements heightened the anticipation of joy and excitement on the part of local residents and tourists alike.

April 9, 1922 Galveston Daily News ad

Beginning in 1929, the Mountain Speedway stood in the shadow of the Buccaneer Hotel, which was completed that year in the 2200 block of Seawall Boulevard. Like other Galveston attractions, the Mountain Speedway was illuminated at night, extending its hours for riders. The roller coaster was finally demolished in 1961.

Today, visitors to the Galveston and Texas History Center have fond memories of riding the Mountain Speedway.

Mountain Speedway